Chapter President
Melissa Kosensky, QPA,
Assistant Purchasing Agent
County of Somerset


Chapter #7 was chartered on October 26, 1977.

Charter members were Huburn B. Eyres, Passaic County (retired) Chairperson Pro Tem; Erwin F. Gernert, Somerset County (deceased) Vice Chair Pro Tem; James Rosenberg, Morris County
(retired), Recording Secretary Pro Tem; John Flaker, and Executive Board members John Flaker, Ridgewood Village (retired); Lawrence Freeman, Irvington Township (retired); and Jack Garber, Middlesex County Purchasing Agent.

Our mission is to uphold the ethical standards of the national association, encourage continuing
education and professionalism in public procurement, facilitate networking among New Jersey
purchasing professionals and work for the improvement of laws relating to government purchasing.

The philosophy of the charter members which has carried through to today is to raise through
membership dues sufficient funds to cover the cost of luncheon meetings for paid members and miscellaneous expenses. We do not maintain a treasury of surplus funds; your dues also pay our
annual chapter assessment to the parent organization and cover limited expenses such as occasional postage, recognition plaques, scholarships and bereavement acknowledgements.

Membership is open to all public procurement employees of any political subdivision of the state.
Annual dues, payable January 1 and in arrears as of April 1, are $80 for each individual.
Guests are required to pay a nominal fee to cover their lunch, $20.

Voting is limited to one vote for each member agency represented in the chapter.

As required by Charter, only paid members of NIGP National shall be qualified to hold the offices
of President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer for two-year terms. The next election is for terms commencing January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2019. A minimum of four meetings per year
are held in Northern NJ.

Download Member Application Here

Executive Officers 2020 - 2021 


Melissa Kosensky, QPA, Assistant Purchasing Agent, County of Somerset
voice: 908-231-7053

Vice President:

Administrative Manager - Franklin Township Sewerage Authority
voice: 732-873-2121

Jane Foti, RPPO, QPA, County of Somerset, 
voice: 908-231-7045 (County)

Mary Richers, QPA, Purchasing/Contract Manager
- Linden Roselle Sewerage Authority
voice: 732-562-2321 l 732-873-2121

Executive Board Members 2018-2019

Mary Lou Stanton , QPA, Instructor - Rutgers University, Center for Govt. Services

Board Member Emeritus

Francis Decibus, RPPO, QPA, Purchasing Agent - Bernards Township
voice: 908-204-3065

Gail Catania, RPPO, QPA, Purchasing Agent - Toms River Township
voice: 732-341-1000

Harry M. Cevallos, QPA, RPPS, Purchasing Agent - City of Paterson
voice: 973-321-1340

Webmaster 2008-2020

James J. Jorgensen, QPA, MSM - Purchasing Agent - City of Clifton


Member Communities Include:
Belleville Public Library
Bergen County Dept of Health Svcs
Bergen County Utilities Authority
Boro of Manville
Borough of Bergenfield
Borough of Carteret
Borough of Cliffside Park
Borough of Closter
Borough of Lincoln Park
Borough of Moonachie
Borough of Paramus
Borough of Rutherford
Borough of Seaside Heights
City of Bayonne
City of Clifton
City of Elizabeth Housing Authority
City of Newark
City of Passaic
City of Paterson
County of Bergen
County of Essex
County of Hunterdon
County of Mercer
County of Mercer
County of Middlesex
County of Monmouth
County of Morris
County of Passaic
County of Somerset
County of Union
County of Warren
County of Somerset
Cranford Township
Joint Mtg of Essex & Union Counties
Linden Roselle Sewerage Authority Morris County Park Commission
Morris County College

Newark Housing Authority
Ocean County
Passaic County Board of Social Services
Passaic County Community College Plainfield Area Regional Sewage Authority
Somerset County
Stony Brook RSA
Town of Secaucus
Townhip of Livingston
Township of Allamuchy
Township of Belleville
Township of Bernards
Township of Cranbury
Township of Cranford
Township of Denville
Township of Franklin
Twnshp of Franklin Sewarage Authority
Township of Greenbrook
Township of Montclair
Township of Morris
Township of Nutley
Township of Parsippany -Troy Hills
Township of Plainsboro
Township of Raritan
Township of Sparta
Township of Teaneck
Township of Warren
Township of Washington (Bergen)

Township of Wayne
Village of Ridgewood
Western Monmouth Utilities Authority
Woodland Park